Ten on Tuesday (2)

This week, I’m answering the questions without the help of my other half, SC. He doesn’t really read books, but I’m always reading. So, you can see why I’m leaving him out of this one. He’d rather be working on some car/bike/dune buggy things. However, I will be going through the ToT archives and picking out some that we can answer together later this week, so stay tuned for that.

1. When someone asks you for a book recommendation, what is your go-to book?

Usually whatever book I loved most in the past month or so. It also depends on who’s asking. Right now I’m still recommending the Hunger Games, mostly because it’s going to be a movie and people like that. But, hello, it’s an awesome series.

2.  Do you buy your books, or are you a library patron?

I buy books. I like to see my progress. A full wall bookshelf filled with books would make my life.
3.  E-readers, yay or nay?

I have a kindle, It’s convenient when you have nothing to read and need instant gratification. But it wont ever rule out true physical text for me. I need that book smell in my life.

4.  What was your favorite book as a child?

I read (and re-read) Nancy Drew, American Girls, and Goosebumps. And as a teenager, my favorite book was A Separate Peace.

5.  If you could be any character in a book, who would you be?

Characters that I really fall in love with (Dicey Tillerman, Katniss Everdeen) seem to have serious hardships. So while I’d be their friend, I wouldn’t necessarily want to be them. So I’d probably choose Arwen Undomiel or Hermione Granger, just to live in a world entirely different than my own.

6.  What book would you love to see turned into a movie?

Before I even heard the Hunger Games would be turned into a movie I dreamed it up. I’m so excited for that. Besides that,  I can’t wait for The Lost Symbol or The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Now that I haven’t answered the question at all, I’m going to say The Giver. And I wish they’d do more with some of Jodi Picoult’s books. I’ve always wanted to see a movie adaptation of 19 Minutes.

7.  What is your all-time favorite book? 

The book (series) that has impacted me the most over the years is Homecoming by Cynthia Voight. It’s teen lit. But it’s always spoken to me.

8.  How many books do you read at once?

I don’t like to read more than one or I get all jumbled up.

9.  What is your favorite book genre?

Right now I’m loving any post-apocalyptic story. Ever since I read The Road, I’ve been interested in the complete destruction of society. I also love epic fantasy. I like to read to escape the hum drum of life.

10.  Which Harry Potter book is the best?  Or haven’t you read them at all?

I just recently read them all, and I love The Deathly Hallows and The Order of the Phoenix. Right up there is The Goblet of Fire. Man, I love them all.

Big thanks to Chelsea, as well as others who I’m reading and loving: Tara

2 Comments

Filed under Blogosphere, Meme, Ten on Tuesday

2 responses to “Ten on Tuesday (2)

  1. Oh the Giver would be ah-mazing as a movie! I recently re-read it and fell in love with it all over again. It’s such a brilliant story.

Leave a Reply

