Infinite Jest: Week Two

 

Favorite story line right now: yrstruly, Poor Tony, & C. I loved the stream of consciousness narrative. It was easy for me to read and I think that’s so interesting because I read that a lot of IJ readers actually skip this and the Clenette section because of the syntax. After reading about two or three sentences, I was completely immersed in the flow of the story. It’s the first story line that I haven’t wanted to stop reading or skim at all. It sucked me in, I can’t explain it any better than that.

Worst story line right now: Marathe and Steeply. I just can’t get into it. I can’t follow all their bullshit coded language and is Marathe or isn’t Marathe actually a double/triple/quadruple agent and what the actual fuck is a quadruple agent, anyway? I don’t even want to get into the lopsided breasts. Jeeze.
Where I’m at right now: I’m on page 169. I’m pacing myself using Ashley‘s Pacekeeper, but I also added pages for every day and at spots that are somewhat easy to stop at. Here’s what that looks like. Aside from where I’m physically at, emotionally I’m not as bad off as I was in the beginning. I’m starting to not hate it. They say there’s a hump that you have to get over before you really start to not be able to put the book down, I’m not there yet. I can’t get lost in it, is my main issue. It’s so disconnected. And trying to figure out what the years actually are and how old Hal is at any given moment is driving me crazy!
What I’m hoping: I hope that some of these stories start overlapping soon. Do they overlap at all? I have no idea how this is going to go. I’m kind of walking around in the dark.
2 Comments

Filed under Blogosphere, Book Club, Infinite Jest

2 responses to “Infinite Jest: Week Two

  1. I wouldn’t call them my favorite, but I love the Marathe and Steeply exchanges. Though, I don’t really know what’s going on with them either.

Leave a Reply

