What I’ve been reading: 2011

This year, I made it my goal to read 30 books. It’s actually been a goal on my life list for some time. I started with 20, and when I completed that I pushed the goal up to 30. That was what I was working toward in 2010, but I missed it by 4. I read 26 books in 2010, so I had to start all over in 2011.

This year, I completed my goal and read TWELVE books on top of that for a total of 42 books read in 2011! 

My Horizontal Life by Chelsea Handler
The Girl Who Played With Fire by Steig Larsson

The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest by Steig Larsson
Plain Truth by Jodi Picoult
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Atonement by Ian McEwan
Vanishing Acts by Jodi Picoult 
Faithful Place by Tara French
The Vampire Diaries: Stefan’s Diaries: Origins by L.J. Smith

The Vampire Diaries: Stefan’s Diaries: Bloodlust  by L.J. Smith
Looking For Alaska by John Green
Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult

Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang by Chelsea Handler
The Vampire Diaries: The Return: Shadow Souls by L.J. Smith
The Vampire Diaries: The Return: Midnight by L.J. Smith
Wither by Lauren DeStefano

Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen

[I spent July reading the 1200 page book that is Infinite Jest]

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace 
Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea by Chelsea Handler
Lies That Chelsea Handler Told Me by Chelsea Handler
Divergent by Veronica Roth

Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Matched by Ally Condie
The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis
The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis
Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis
The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis
The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis
The Silver Chair by C.S. Lewis

Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins
Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane by Suzanne Collins
Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods by Suzanne Collins
Gregor and the Marks of Secret by Suzanne Collins
Gregor and the Code of Claw by Suzanne Collins

Bumped by Megan McCafferty
The Scent of Rain and Lightning by Nancy Pickard 


If I Stay by Gayle Forman 
Where she Went by Gayle Forman
Love The One You’re With by Emily Giffin 

Now It’s time to set a goal for 2012. I clearly already made the goal I should have been setting for myself next year. If I read 30 this year, I’d be aiming for 40 in 2012. But since I actually read 40 in 2011, I’m gonna have to up the ante to 50 books in 2012.

That’s my official goal. I put it out there, universe. There’s no take-backs. Here’s to reading my butt off in 2012!

3 Comments

Filed under Book Club, Infinite Jest, Life List

3 responses to “What I’ve been reading: 2011

  1. Ali

    Amazing! Seriously inspiring. Might just have to copy you on this one.

  2. Reading 50 books in a year is on my list for some year in the near future. I need to finish up school first so I’ve got more time, but then it’s on!

  3. check you out big reader, that’s awesome! and we totally read some of the same series, woo hunger games/gregor/dragon tattoo! haha. good luck hitting 50, you can do it!

Leave a Reply

